Skip navigation

News Home

Cindy Partridge

NSW Health Midwife of the Year, Cindy Partridge from Nepean Hospital.

Nepean Hospital midwife named Midwife of the Year

27 Nov 2020


Nepean Hospital Aboriginal Caseload Midwife, Cindy Partridge has won the Midwife of the Year Award at the NSW Health Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards 2020.

The Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards acknowledge the significant skill, passion and contributions of the 53,000 nurses and midwives working across the state in the NSW public health system.

Ms Partridge’s personal experience receiving care from Nepean Hospital’s caseload midwifery program was the kick-start for her own career in health.

“It wasn’t until I had my own baby that I saw the impact that midwifery had on me as a mum,” says Ms Partridge, who adds that being able to care for mothers and babies who identify as Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander is her greatest blessing.

“I’m really passionate about Aboriginal midwifery and about making sure that women feel safe, heard and that I’m culturally sensitive towards their needs as they birth and welcome their new baby into the world. Seeing them be strong, confident and empowered is just wonderful.”

Ms Partridge says she was touched by the nomination which noted her “extremely woman-centred care, culturally sensitive and innovative approach to midwifery care.”

In receiving the award, Ms Partridge acknowledged and thanked the caseload midwifery team, Aboriginal birth workers and other midwives and staff at Nepean Hospital.

“You guys are my village and I just love where I work and I love it because of you,” Ms Partridge said before also thanking her clients.

“Without them I wouldn’t have this amazing, rewarding job,” said Ms Partridge.

Congratulations to Cindy Partridge and to Pia Lambert, Acting Clinical Nurse Unit Manager at Lithgow Community Health Centre, who was recognised as a Nurse of the Year finalist at the awards ceremony.

The 2020 awards ceremony was presented online on 26 November. Click here to view the awards ceremony and see the list of this year’s winners and finalists.